Skip to Content
Elected Officials

Join us for Meet & Greet Mayor Weaver!

Meet and Greet Mayor Kathleen Weaver

You are invited to Meet & Greet Mayor Kathleen Weaver the third Monday of each month from 6:00pm to 7:00pm at Darien City Hall, 1702 Plainfield Road. Find out the latest City updates! Share your thoughts and suggestions! Get involved! Meet other residents!

Mayor Kathleen Moesle Weaver

Mayor Kathleen
Term Ends - May 2019

First elected in 1987, Kathleen Weaver has served continuously since that time. On October 17, 2005, Kathleen was chosen by her fellow alderman to fill the unexpired term of Mayor which ran until April, 2007. In April, 2007 she was elected by the residents of Darien as Mayor. She has been the Chairman of the Administrative/Finance Committee which oversees the City’s annual budget, a position she held from 1987 until April, 2007.

Kathleen received her bachelor’s degree from University of Illinois, Champaign.  She has been an elementary school teacher and is currently working in the insurance industry.  She is widowed with two adult children and one grandchild.


City Clerk JoAnne Ragona

JoAnne Ragona, City
Term Ends - May 2019

JoAnne has been Darien resident for more than 35 years and is the parent of two adult children.

She has 23 years municipal experience with the City of Darien and the Village of Woodridge.  JoAnne has a Bachelor of Arts Degree from DePaul University and is a Certified Municipal Clerk and Illinois Registered Clerk.  JoAnne has been a volunteer for Our Lady of Peace, Darien Youth Club, School District 61, DarienFest, Carmelite Carefree Village, Municipal Clerks of Illinois and Safer Foundation PACE.  She is a member of International Institute of Municipal Clerks, Municipal Clerks of Illinois, Municipal Clerks of DuPage County, North and Northwest Suburban Clerk’s Association.


Treasurer Michael J. Coren

Treasurer Michael J.
Term Ends - May 2019

Elected as Treasurer in the April 2007 election.  Michael is married to Jan and has one daughter, Gina, and two sons, Scott and John.

Police Pension Board [schedule]


Ted V. Schauer, Alderman Ward One

Alderman Ted
 Ward One Map

Elected as Alderman April 2009
Term Ends - May 2021

Ted Schauer has lived in Darien since 2000. Ted graduated from The University of Iowa in 1991. He is a senior loan officer and has been in the banking industry since 2001. Ted is also president of the Farmingdale South Homeowners Association. He is married to his wife, Kristina and is the father of two boys.

Ward One is bound by Plainfield Road, Bailey Road, Nantucket Drive and North Frontage Road.

Chairman, Administrative/Finance Committee [schedule]


Lester Vaughan, Alderman Ward Two

 lvaughan@darienil.govAlderman - Lester Vaughan                                                  
 Ward Two Map
Lester, who was appointed with the unanimous consent of the city council, is a Systems Engineer, with over 15 years of experience in software development and project management.  Lester has a B.S. in Computer Science and Education from Oral Roberts University and has completed a number of professional-credit project management courses.  Lester is a proud father of two and lives with his partner Lauren.  
Ward two is bound by 75th St., 67th St., Leonard Dr., and Route 83
Police Committee [schedule]    


Joseph A. Kenny, Alderman Ward Three

Alderman Joe
Ward Three Map

Elected as Alderman April 2013
Term Ends - May 2021

Joe and his wife Lisa, who is a nurse at Good Samaritan Hospital in Downers Grove, have lived in Darien since 1997.

Joe has been a local Realtor since 2001 and volunteers for numerous organizations such as the Rotary Club of Downers Grove, First United Methodist Homeless Ministry in Chicago, and is a member of the choir at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church.

Ward Three is bound by 67th Street, Cass Avenue, Plainfield Road, and Fairview Avenue and includes:

  • Brookhaven West Subdivision
  • Brookhaven Plaza
  • Darien Club Subdivision
  • Heritage Plaza & adjacent businesses
  • DiCosia Subdivision
  • Plainfield Office Park
  • Farmingdale Subdivision
  • Moser Subdivision
  • Norman Court Homes & Townhomes
  • Knotingham Subdivision - Darien portion
  • Stevens, Hawthorne & Williams Street Homes
  • Lace, Fairview and Eisenhower Schools area homes & businesses
  • Colonial Manor Apt & adjacent businesses
  • Darien City Hall & Police Department area

Administrative/Finance Committee [schedule]


 Thomas M. Chlystek Alderman Ward Four

Alderman Thomas
Ward Four Map

Term expires: May 2019

Administrative/Finance Committee [schedule]

Municipal Services Committee [schedule]



Joseph A. Marchese, Alderman Ward Five

Alderman James
Ward Five Map

Term Ends - May 2021

Elected as Alderman April, 1997. He is married and father of three children.

Ward Five is bound by South Frontage Road, Lemont Road, Cumnor Road and Plainfield Road.

Chairman, Municipal Services Committee [schedule]

Police Committee [schedule]


Sylvia McIvor, Alderwoman Ward Six

Alderwoman Sylvia
Ward Six Map

Term Ends - May 2019
Elected as Alderwoman on May 2, 2005.  She is married and has two children.

Ward 6

  • Adlfinger’s Resubdivision
  • Betkes Subdivision
  • Charles Peak Division
  • Chestnut Court (shopping center)
  • GMC Resubdivision
  • Marketplace at Darien (shopping center)
  • Meyers Commons
  • Part of the Lake in the Woods
  • Rosewood Condos
  • Rosewood Resubdivision No. 2
  • Sharon Estates
  • Water Tower Court Assessment
  • Water Tower Court Unit 2    
  • Woodhill Resubdivision
  • Woodmere
  • Zepa’s Subdivision
  • Crossroad of Darien PUD (office, shopping center)
  • Darien Corporate Center (office, industrial)
  • Darien Towne Centre (shopping center)
  • Gallagher & Henry’s Farmingdale Ridge Units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
  • Gallagher & Henry’s Farmingdale Village Units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Chairman, Police Committee [schedule]


Thomas J. Belczak, Alderman Ward Seven
Ward Seven Map

Term Ends - May 2021

Ward Seven is bound by 67th Street, Richmond Avenue, Plainfield Road and Cass Avenue

Municipal Services Committee [schedule]